Tech Blog

Free, as in Wi-Fi?

by Retired Blogger on ‎08-10-2009 08:23 AM - last edited on ‎04-30-2012 05:34 PM by Moderator

wifi_250-2.jpg As I write this post, My wife and I are on vacation in the lovely (extremely lovely) city of Montreal.

We've been here for a week and a bit, part as tourist, and part as an attendee at the World Science Fiction Convention (AnticipationSF). In fact, I'm typing this post in the convention hall, in an area provided with free Wi-Fi by the convention.

By now you know I'm a tech-head. I live and breath Tech, which means I also make certain assumptions, not always to my benefit.

My latest assumption is that Free Wi-Fi is always available in your hotel room. And when it's not, I'm no longer so Awesome :smileysad:

Not so.
Initially, we'd stayed at this amazing Montreal B&B, and everything was as you'd expect in a B&B experience. We ensured that Wi-Fi was available...it wasn't at all B&Bs. It will be at our next stop, also a B&B, in Quebec City.

But, and here's where I made an Assumption (and you know what they say about those). I had assumed, that when we moved from the B&B to the big-name downtown hotel, Wi-Fi would naturally be available and included in the room rate. Yes, Wi-Fi was available, and advertised as being available, but it was not advertised as being free, or having any cost associated with it..it was just 'available'. They charged per hour. A very expensive rate too. Obviously I should have checked before booking this hotel.

It's a business.
Now, I understand that this is a hotel that caters to business and visitors, and that they could have easily embedded the Wi-Fi charges into my 'room rate', and I would have been as happy as a clam.