Tech Blog

Having the Audacity to expect results!

by Emerging Expert The_Texorcist Emerging Expert on ‎05-18-2011 02:19 PM - last edited on ‎04-30-2012 08:44 AM by Retired Moderator

Guitar Wars!

As a hobbyist musician, I often pour longingly over the equipment and instruments that I just cannot justify purchasing. Music can be an expensive hobby, and it's not just that '68 Les Paul that takes a bite out of your wallet. If you are at all interested in recording or sharing your music, or even cleaning up old cassette recordings and putting them into your CD library, mixing boards and sound processing equipment can rack up the bill pretty quickly too. But with the advent of more powerful computers, most of these functions can be had right on your desktop... for a price. Recording and processing software can range from one hundred to one THOUSAND dollars, and more. What's a poor boy to do?

Then along comes one of the best hidden tools in the audiophile's toolkit... Audacity, an Open Source audio and recording software. This is a robust, mature platform which can handle most any sound or music task for you, with surprisingly professional results! Lend me your ear, and I'll cover some of the rich feature set that this project brings to the table.

Recording