Tech Blog

eBooks Outsell HardCovers: Your Summer Reading List Just Got Lighter

by Blogger on ‎06-20-2012 07:10 PM - last edited on ‎07-11-2013 02:20 PM by JorgeM Recognized Expert

steveapplesipad.jpg

About a year ago ebooks outsold paperback books for the first time. That achievement sent a shudder through the publishing—and book selling—industry. But this news isn’t just sending a shudder, it’s sending a fit of the screaming mimis through the industry:

eBooks are outselling hardcover books—It’s the end of books as you knew them: E-books out-sell hardbound for the 1st time | ZDNet.

Just let that sink in for a moment.

Tectonic Shift In Publishing

The implications of this shift are huge. From the publisher’s side of things (and being an author, I know this pretty well), it means they can get better margins on books. You don’t have to ship pallets and pallets of books to stores. You don’t have to buy paper and ink. The process from writing to editing to proofing to publishing can happen a lot faster.

As an author I think this is great, because if my publisher can save money producing my books, they can afford to pay me more to write them.

For small publishers and self publishers the rise of eReaders makes it easier to get niche books out into the world and into people’s hands. There are a lot of great stories to be told and often the only barrier to publishing them is finding the money to do it.

Dark Side of eBooks

But there is a darker side to this news.

While I love reading and buying books electronically, I also love books. I have hundreds of them (used to be thousands, but I had to do a cull). I bought the Steve Jobs biography as soon as I could in iBooks, and then bought the hardcover to “have”. What will happen to buying books? What will happen to browsing through a bookstore? Will we just have rows and rows of screens with sample chapters to look at? Bookstores could be a lot smaller then, but maybe that isn’t a good thing.